Friday, May 07, 2004

Punks Not Dead!

Last week, the Bay Area's Fat Wreck Chords (home to the likes of the Descendents, Anti-Flag, NOFX & Tilt) released a compilation album called Rock Against Bush, Vol.1 . Here's what's on it:

01 Nothing To Do When You're Locked Away In A Vacancy* None More Black
02 Moron* Sum 41
03 Warbrain* Alkaline Trio
04 Need More Time* Epoxies
05 The School Of Assassins* Anti-Flag
06 Sink, Florida, Sink (Electric)* Against Me!
07 Baghdad* The Offspring
08 Lion And The Lamb* The Get Up Kids
09 Give It All* Rise Against
10 No W* Ministry
11 Sad State Of Affairs* Descendents
12 Revolution* Authority Zero
13 Paranoia! Cha-Cha-Cha* The Soviettes
14 That's Progress* Jello Biafra with D.O.A.
15 Overcome (The Recapitulation)* RX Bandits
16 No Voice Of Mine* Strung Out
17 To The World* Strike Anywhere
18 Heaven Is Falling* The Ataris
19 God Save The USA* Pennywise
20 Normal Days* Denali
21 The Expatriate Act* The World/Inferno Friendship Soc.
22 No News Is Good News* New Found Glory
23 Basket Of Snakes* The Frisk
24 Jaw, Knee, Music* NOFX
25 It's The Law* Social Distortion
26 The Brightest Bulb Has Burned Out * Less Than Jake f/ Billy Bragg

I ain't terribly punk rock, but I love that these guys did this, and that in the CD's first week of sales it broke the Billboard Top 200 to debut at # 54. This week it only drops a bit to #66 (argh! almost the number of the beast! how appropriate!) and continues to sell like gangbusters. Fat Wreck Chords are just a bunch of dirty punks (in the nicest way) who hate Bush, I guess, and I hope those tens of thousands of people who are buying the CD hate Bush too.

And check out more punks who are anti-Bush, and register to vote and get that idiot out of office!